Vote count underway in three India states

Kohima: The ruling National Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) is leading in 12 seats and its ally, the BJP, in six seats – just ahead of the Naga Peoples Front (NPF), which is leading in 15 seats – in the vote count for the Nagaland Assembly on Saturday.

The figures are for the 35 out of 59 seats that went to polls on February 27, according to the Election Commission.

The Bharatiya Janata Party contested the polls in alliance with the newly-floated NDPP in the state poll. The two contested in 20 and 40 seats, respectively.

The voting was held in 59 of the total 60 constituencies as three-time Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio of the NDDP was declared elected unopposed from Northern Angami-II constituency.

The Janata Dal-United and National People’s Party are each ahead in one seat. 

Vote count underway

The counting of votes for the assembly election in three Indian northeast states of Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura began on Saturday amid tight security, officials said.

Counting began at 8am in all the three north eastern states, Election Commission sources said.

Though the strength of each assembly is 60, voting was held for 59 constituencies in all the three states, for different reasons.

While a CPI-M  (Communist Party of India – Marxist) candidate died in Tripura, a Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate was killed in Meghalaya, and this resulted in countermanding of the polls in one seat in each of the two states.

In Nagaland, former chief minister Neiphiu Rio won from one seat unopposed.

Tripura went to the polls on February 18 and elections were held in Nagaland and Meghalaya on February 27.

The Additional Chief Electoral Officer of Tripura, Tapas Ray said counting is on in 59 counting halls for 59 constituencies in 20 sub-divisions of all eight districts.

A three-tier security arrangement has been made for all the counting centres, Ray said adding that it is expected that the results would be out by five hours.

In Nagaland, 349 tables in 17 centres across the state have been set up for the counting of votes, its Chief Electoral Officer Abhijit Sinha said.

Votes in Nagaland are being counted in the presence of the candidates and their agents under the supervision of the respective district returning officers and assistant returning officers, State Additional CEO N Moa Aier told PTI.

Meghalaya Chief Electoral Officer F R Kharkongor said a three-tier security arrangement has been made at all the 13 counting centres and 11 companies of Central Armed Police Forces have been deployed here for the counting process. 

Share This Post